International Jury

An international jury of experts will assess the projects entered in two rounds: first in the online selection process and, as a next step, in the original.

The jury for 2020:

Susanne Breitfeld
Communication Designer, Mainz/Germany

Marko Golub
Art critic and Curator, Zagreb/Croatia

Aad Goudappel
Illustrator, Rotterdam/Netherlands

Laurent Graas
Strategic Director, Leudelange/Luxembourg

Irena Gubanc
Graphic Designer and Illustrator, Ljubljana/Slovenia

Francesco E. Guida
Communication Designer, Milan/Italy

Tina Guthauser
Creative Director, Basel/Switzerland

Štěpán Holič
Graphic Designer, Praha/Czech Republic

Christina John
Communication Designer, Munich/Germany

Indra Kupferschmid
Typographer, Saarbrücken/Germany

Gediminas Lašas
Graphic Designer, Vilnius/Lithuania

Torsten Meyer-Bogya
Communication Designer, Kiel/Germany

Lena Mitkowa
Creative Director, Warsaw/Poland

Vitaly Stavitsky
Graphic Designer, Moscow/Russia

Daniel Stolle
Illustrator, Kyröskoski/Finland

Martin Tiefenthaler
Typographer, Vienna/Austria

Members of the jury are excluded from participation in the competition. There will be no correspondence on the jury or its decisions.


In each category, a Joseph Binder Award in gold, silver, and bronze will be awarded in the form of trophies: the ball of crumpled paper encased in glass is a symbol for the creative process. In addition, the jury may give away up to three merit awards in each of the graphic design and illustration categories.

In order to support independent, conceptual, scientific, and non-commercial activities in the fields of graphic design and illustration, cash prizes worth a total of 10,000 euros will be awarded to five outstanding projects in the Design Fiction category. Moreover, in this category the Henry Steiner Prize will be awarded to honour a particularly deserving project.

All of the entries selected by the jury will be published in a catalogue. The jury may withhold or reallocate awards and money prizes. All entrants will be notified of the results after both jury processes (June and July 2020).

Award Ceremony, Catalogue, and Exhibition

The winners will be publicly disclosed on 12 November 2020 within the framework of a festive presentation of the selected and prize-winning entries, to be held in Vienna’s MuseumsQuartier. On the occasion of the award ceremony, a catalogue will appear containing all of the selected and prize-winning entries and introducing the members of the jury. Furthermore, the awarded projects will be presented for a period of several weeks in an exhibition at designforum Wien and afterwards as touring exhibition in several European cities.